Blog Posts

American Revolution - Books

Updated: Dec 30, 2021

Affiliated Links - Click on the books below to be taken to Amazon.co.uk where you can find out more about the books. If you purchase anything Amazon will give me a small percentage of the profit! Scroll down to see the list of free, online books. If you come across any books you want to recommend mention it in the comments below and I will try to add it to the list.



Want to dispel some myths and find out the real facts then this is the book for your 8-12-year-old.


Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth behind the Revolutionary War with beloved educator/author Kate Messner. The fun mix of sidebars, illustrations, photos, and graphic panels make this perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.


On April 18, 1775, Paul Revere rode through Lexington and Concord, Massachusetts, shouting, "The British are coming!" to start the American Revolution.RIGHT?


WRONG! Paul Revere made it to Lexington, but before he could complete his mission, he was captured!


The truth is, dozens of Patriots rode around warning people about the Redcoats' plans that night. It was actually a man named Samuel Prescott who succeeded, alerting townspeople in Lexington and then moving on to Concord. But the Revolutionary War didn't officially start for more than a year after Prescott's ride. No joke.


Discover the nonfiction series that smashes everything you thought you knew about history.


A great book for introducing 8-11-year-olds to the black heroes of the revolution.


Crispus Attucks is known as the escaped slave whose freedom ended when he died in the Boston Massacre, but there are many other lesser-known black men and women who made enormous contributions to U.S. independence. Readers will discover Edward Hector, the brave wagoner of Brandywine; artilleryman and slave Austin Dabney; William Lee, the aide and closest companion of George Washington throughout the war; and many others. Includes a bibliography, a foreword by Senator Edward W. Brooke, and an index.



A great hands-on book for 9-12-year-olds to really get your readers interested.


Heroes, traitors, and great thinkers come to life in this activity book, and the concepts of freedom and democracy are celebrated in true accounts of the distinguished officers, wise delegates, rugged riflemen, and hardworking farm wives and children who created the new nation. This collection tells the story of the Revolution, from the hated Stamp Act and the Boston Tea Party to the British surrender at Yorktown and the creation of the United States Constitution. All American students are required to study the Revolution and the Constitution, and these 21 activities make it fun and memorable. Kids create a fringed hunting shirt and a tricorn hat and reenact the Battle of Cowpens. They will learn how to make their voices heard in "I Protest" and how Congress works in "There Ought to Be a Law." A final selection including the Declaration of Independence, a glossary, biographies, and pertinent Web sites makes this book a valuable resource for both students and teachers.



A different perspective for your 9-12-year-olds to help them appreciate that history is seldom straightforward.


There are two sides to every story. Rosalyn Schanzer's engaging and wonderfully illustrated book brings to life both sides of the American Revolution. The narrative introduces anew the two enemies, both named George: George Washington, the man who freed the American colonies from the British, and George III, the British king who lost them. Two leaders on different sides of the Atlantic, yet with more in common than we sometimes acknowledge. We are lead through their story, and the story of their times, and see both sides of the arguments that divided the colonies from the Kingdom. Was King George a Royal Brute as American patriots claimed? Or was he, as others believed, the father of the people? Was George Washington a scurrilous traitor, as all the king's supporters claimed? Or should we remember and celebrate him as the father of his country? Who was right? History teaches us that there are two sides to every story. Rosalyn Schanzer's book is an accessible account of one the most vital periods in American history. It is also a timeless lesson in seeing history from different points of view. The author spent two years researching books, paintings, cartoons, and descriptions of Revolutionary times. She uses art, text, and first-hand accounts to illustrate how history should never be reduced to simplistic conflicts between the good guys and the bad guys. Her illustrations, and her engaging quote bubbles, bring the Revolution to life again, and allow the characters of the period to speak for themselves. Through its lively text, detailed illustrations, and fully authenticated quotes, George vs. George shines fresh light on both sides of the story of our country's formative years.



The DK non-fiction books are just great for those 8-12-year-olds who just devour facts.


Become an eyewitness to the American struggle for independence, from the events that sparked the war to the signing of the Constitution.

This picture-led guide will take you on a visual tour through revolutionary America. Discover how American soldiers won battles against the British, plus see the muskets and cannons of the armies, learn how soldiers were drilled, and find out why Yorktown was not the end of the Revolution.

Eyewitness American Revolution will bring you face-to-face with American revolutionaries including George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, John Hancock, John Adams, and Benjamin Franklin. This museum in a book uses striking full-color photographs and illustrations of colonial weaponry, the notorious British redcoat uniform, deadly warships, the historic Declaration of Independence, and much more as well as amazing facts, infographics, statistics, and timelines to help bring this extraordinary war to life.



A funny and easily digestible look at the revolution for your 9-12 year old that may find other history books a bit boring!


What do the most famous traitor in history, hundreds of naked soldiers, and a salmon lunch have in common? They're all part of the amazing story of the American Revolution.

Entire books have been written about the causes of the American Revolution. This isn't one of them.

What it is, instead, is utterly interesting, ancedotes (John Hancock fixates on salmon), from the inside out (at the Battle of Eutaw Springs, hundreds of soldiers plunged into battle naked as they were born) close-up narratives filled with little-known details, lots of quotes that capture the spirit and voices of the principals (If need be, I will raise one thousand men, subsist them at my own expense, and march myself at their head for the relief of Boston --George Washington), and action. It's the story of the birth of our nation, complete with soldiers, spies, salmon sandwiches, and real facts you can't help but want to tell to everyone you know.



I love these biographical books for 8-12-year-olds, a good level of vocabulary used and lots of detail.


In 1789, George Washington became the first president of the United States. He has been called the father of our country for leading America through its early years. Washington also served in two major wars during his lifetime: the French and Indian War and the American Revolution. With over 100 black-and-white illustrations, Washington's fascinating story comes to life - revealing the real man, not just the face on the dollar bill!



In graphic novel format, describes life at the Valley Forge camp during the winter of 1777. Suitable for ages 8-10.











Free Books!


The Puritan Twins Nancy and Daniel Pepperell grow up in a Puritan settlement and show us something about their lives.


Four Great Americans 'Primary level biographies of four prominent American statesmen: George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Daniel Webster, and Abraham Lincoln. The author emphasizes their childhoods and early careers rather than their political achievements in order to hold the interest of young children.' (https://www.heritage-history.com)


American History Stories Volume II 'This second volume in Pratt's American History Series covers the Revolutionary War in Detail. It tells a variety of short stories about interesting events associated with the Revolution, including the Boston Tea Party, Paul Revere's ride, the Capture of Ticonderoga, the winter at Valley Forge. It also introduces many of the heroes of the revolution including Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, Israel Putnam, Lafayette, and many others.' (https://www.heritage-history.com)


Richard of Jamestown 'This book follows the life of Richard, a poor boy from London, who finding himself homeless and alone in the world, sets sail with Captain John Smith for the Jamestown colony in the new world. The book closely follows the historical events recorded by John Smith, but they are relayed from a young boys point of view and emphasis issues related to daily life, such as hunting and building fortifications, as well as historical events.' (https://www.heritage-history.com)


George Washington's Rules of Civility As a youth, presumably as an exercise in penmanship, George Washington wrote out 110 Rules of Civility in a copybook.






7 views0 comments